Queen Quet: Continuing the Gullah/Geechee Nation Human Rights Journey and Legacy

by

Gullah/Geechee Nation

Each July 2nd, I take time to pray and meditate and to reflect on July 2, 2000 and the thousands of people and hundreds of media cameras and trucks that seemed to show up out of nowhere on one side of the sand dune at Sullivan’s Island while on the other side I was chained up like my ancestors that had arrived there in the 1600s, 1700s, and 1800s had been.  My chains were only on my arms while they were no doubt shackled also at the ankles to others and then bound in and around pestilence houses.  When the chains fell from my arms because one woman cried out, “Let her go!” and the entire crowd chanted with her and the drums beat out, “Let her go!” and I fell to my knees and the chains released, GOD was releasing a burden from the minds and hearts of Gullah/Geechees…

View original post 1,295 more words

Leave a Reply

