Gullah/Geechee Wetlands-De Journee ta de Sea and We by Queen Quet

by

Gullah/Geechee Nation

Bennett's Point, SC

February 2nd is “World Wetlands Day.”   Given that I am a Sea Island ooman, the waterways of all names appeal to my soul.  There is an ancestral energy that flows through the waterways as it does in my veins.  I am sure it is that energy that orchestrated my journey during Black History Month to stand before an international audience on “World Wetlands Day” and speak of the journey that my people took to be along the Intercoastal Waterway still holding on to our history, heritage, and culture.  It was Divinely Ordered to sit at the table with a myriad of people that are literally seeking to keep the land beneath our feet and the tides from removing our cultures and cultural resources from the lands as the climate continues to change.

Queen Quet, Chieftess of the Gullah/Geechee Nation

The flow into and out of the international arena is one that is smooth for me.  I…

View original post 472 more words

Leave a Reply

