De Gullah/Geechee Rural Ooman

by

Gullah/Geechee Nation

by Queen Quet, Chieftess of the Gullah/Geechee Nation (www.QueenQuet.com)

Since October 2008, the United Nations celebrates the International Day of the Rural Woman annually. This year, I had the opportunity to celebrate this date with a broadcast on “Gullah/Geechee Riddim Radio” entitled “Gullah/Geechee Rural Ooman Feedin de Famlee” (http://www.blogtalkradio.com/gullahgeechee/2013/10/21/gullahgeechee-rural-ooman-feedin-de-famlee).

Each year the day is to acknowledge “the critical role and contribution of rural women, including indigenous women, in enhancing agricultural and rural development, improving food security and eradicating rural poverty.”  So, as I pondered this, I could continuously see my mother and I and other women that I grew up around and with on St. Helena Island, SC in the Gullah/Geechee Nation out in the fields and working on the farm.  I could also see women casting nets on low tide in the creeks.  As I pondered the images that came to…

View original post 733 more words

Leave a Reply

