St. Helena Island Educates Through Festivals Focused on Gullah/Geechee History & Traditions

by

Gullah/Geechee Nation

by Queen Quet, Chieftess of the Gullah/Geechee Nation (www.QueenQuet.com)

Tenk Gawd fa St. Helena nayme fa de ladee.

Tenk Gawd fa St. Helena whey de Gullah/Geechee be.

Tenk Gawd fa St. Helena an holdin pun we land.

Tenk Gawd fa St. Helena an e Sea Islandt sand.

Tenk Gawd fa St. Helena an de wata wa bring we.

Tenk Gawd fa St. Helena whey we still da famlee!

St. Helena Island is the land of my foreparents and this time of year, I feel them all around me as I harvest from the fields. The energy of our bond the heat just seals.

I hear them singing with me when I raise a spiritual and I hear the drum and the stamping stick hitting the praise house floor when I shout.  Yes, this is truly what my island is all about!

We sit with family under the oak…

View original post 978 more words

Leave a Reply

